Happy New Year!

Looking back, these past 2 years have been a blur. Few things went the way they were planned…we went from the usual pattern of assess, adjust, and adapt, to SURVIVE!

There were some fierce battles, bitter disappointments, surprising betrayals, serious losses, and deep hurts. But, there were also some amazing victories, huge surprises, brilliant acts of courage, and exciting adventures. People I thought I could count on let me down, and people I never would have suspected stepped up and blew my mind with their performance.

We said goodbye to some precious friends and hello to some new and wonderful people.

I’ve not just grown a year older, I’ve grown much wiser. I’ve learned more about God, other people, life, and myself this year than any in recent history. It really was an interesting year!

📌 I tell this story everywhere I go because it radically shifted my entire outlook on life.

During the most desperate and difficult time I’ve ever experienced, I called Dr. Henry Jones, (who has gone to be with the Lord) at 4:30 am on a Sunday morning. I told him my situation and he shared something that changed my perspective forever.

He said, “Tim, life is an amazing enigma. It seems as though there are always good things and bad things happening simultaneously and you have to decide which you will focus on. If you focus on the negative it can overwhelm you and make you feel hopeless; but if you focus on the positive it seems you can find just enough strength to overcome…but only you can decide.”

📌 He went on to tell me that rather than grieving over those who have left, celebrate those who stayed. “Instead of crying over your losses, gather up your leftovers, give them to God, and let Him do a miracle of multiplication.”

“Remember the woman who had just enough oil and meal to make 1 small cake?” he said, “That’s all that was left; but that’s all God needed to sustain her and her son through the famine. God can do a lot with a little if we’ll just give it to Him!”

I want to encourage you to find the good and determine to focus on it…what’s left…tomorrow’s potential…the limitless possibilities.

Let’s celebrate the leftovers and watch God make 2023 the greatest year of our lives!

Happy New Year everyone!

About pastor tim walker

I am a thinker, a God lover, the father of four wonderful children and founding Pastor of Church Alive, a non-denominational congregation in the Cleveland, OH area. For more information visit us at www.mychurchalive.com

Posted on December 31, 2022, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment